QA Certification (in English)

June 11, 2015 White Papers

The White Paper highlights QA certification, its advantages, main certification centers and certificates given by them, and contains a comparative analysis of such centers as ISTQB and ISEB and their programs like IIST CSTP, QAI CSTE and ISTQB. The White Paper is in English.


Certification is an additional proof that one possesses knowledge at the time of passing certification.

For many people a certificate is a way to satisfy’ personal ambitions.

There is certain knowledge at the time of passing an exam, but there is no guarantee that it will be demanded and not lost.

A certified specialist is of great value for a customer. And companies employing such specialists are valued even more highly.

Keywords: Testing, certification, estimation of knowledge.


At present certification of quality assurance specialists gathers pace. There is a great amount of certification centers, which specialize in different regions. Today there are vendor certifications aimed at assessment of knowledge of certain products (QTP. LoaclRunner.etc). there are various levels of certificates (Foundation. Advanced. Expert). Some types of certification require a certain work experience, and in some cases it is required to visit courses or trainings.
Which certifications are the most widespread and who gives certificates?

The International Institute for Software Testing (IIST) has been offering the Certified Software Test Professional (CSTP) certification since 1999. At present thousands of specialists hold its certificates, confirming various stages of the CSTP program.

The Quality Assurance Institute (QAI) was founded in 1980 as a professional association of software product quality assurance. The process of certification has begun in 1990. At present QAI certification is the one of global character. From the moment of its foundation the organization has certified more than 35000 IT specialists in 43 countries.

ISTQB was officially founded in Edinburgh in November 2002. It is the ISTQB’s role to support a single, universally accepted, international qualification scheme by providing the core syllabi and by setting guidelines for accreditation and examination for national boards. At present more than 100 thousand specialists hold Foundation Level certificates. Nearly 12 thousand specialists are holders of Advanced Level certificates.


The Information Systems Examinations Board (ISEB) is one of the departments of British Computer Society (BCS). ISEB was founded in 1990 as a result of investigation of the council analysis system, which was founded in 1967. ISEB conducts exams and gives certificates on various subjects in the engineering sphere.


ASTQB is similar in every way to ISTQB, it provides services on the USA territory.

Download the full article to read comparative analysis of such centers as ISTQB and ISEB and their programs like IIST CSTP, QAI CSTE and ISTQB.

I Want to Know More

Download White-Paper